Anne Allen

Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance

Author Profile

Anne  Allen

Anne lives in Devon by her beloved sea and near to her family.Her restless spirit has meant a number of moves. the longest stay being the fourteen years spent in Guernsey after falling in love with this magical island. She contrived to leave a son behind to ensure a valid reason for returns. Another son is based in London - ideal for city breaks. By profession a psychotherapist, Anne has now retired to focus on writing novels. To date there are six published in The Guernsey Novels series.

Books

The Inheritance (The Guernsey Novels, #7)

Literature & Fiction

How close were Victor Hugo and his copyist? 1862 Young widow Eugénie faces an uncertain future in Guernsey when her husband dies at sea. A further tragedy brings her to the attention of Monsieur Victor Hugo, exiled on the island and living in his opulent house only yards away from Eugénie. Their meeting changes her life and she begins working for him as a copyist, forming a strong friendship with both Hugo and his mistress, Juliette Drouet. 2012 Doctor Tess Le Prevost, born in Guernsey, now living in Exeter, is shocked to inherit her Great-Aunt’s house on the island. As a child, she listened to Aunt Doris’s tales of their ancestor, Eugénie, whose house this once was, and who, according to family myth, was particularly close to Hugo. Was he the father of her child? Tess is intrigued and inheriting the house allows her to make a fresh start on her beloved island. Will she discover the truth about Eugénie and Hugo? A surprise find may hold the answer as Tess embraces new challenges which test her strength – and her heart.

Book Bubbles from The Inheritance (The Guernsey Novels, #7)

Eugénie meets Victor Hugo

This dual-time story starts begins with Eugénie describing the fateful day she not only is about to suffer a terrible loss, but meets the literary giant, Victor Hugo, who is now living in exile on Guernsey. Eugénie lives only doors away and knows of him, of course, but is about to become part of his life as a copyist. She is also befriended by Hugo's mistress, Juliette Drouet and both become central to her life from this day.

The Guernsey Novels by Anne Allen - Boxset 1

Romance

The first three books in The Guernsey Novels Series, a mix of romance, family drama and mystery. Each book is a standalone story but they all link together

Book Bubbles from The Guernsey Novels by Anne Allen - Boxset 1

Jeanne's inheritance

Jeanne sees her grandmother's cottage for the first time in 15 years and memories start crowding in from the past. There had been many happy times spent there as a child, with her grandparents and parents, but those times were now overshadowed by what happened 15 years ago. . .

The Guernsey Novels Boxset 2

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense

Books 4-6 of The Guernsey Novels, standalone stories of romantic mystery, family drama and tales from the German Occupation of Guernsey. Two of the books are dual-time in both contemporary and Occupation Guernsey

Book Bubbles from The Guernsey Novels Boxset 2

The Family Divided

Charlotte is returning to La Folie, a natural health retreat in Guernsey where she had stayed some months previously and was now keen to return . She was facing more than one crisis in her life- professional and personal - and needed space to think. And to be surrounded by supportive people.

The Family Divided

Literature & Fiction

One family, divided by death – and money Andy Batiste, at loggerheads with his degenerate cousin, seeks to discover the truth of his family history. Why was his pregnant grandmother forced to flee to France? What really happened to her husband during the German Occupation, sixty years ago? Who accused Edmund, the elder son and Batiste heir, of being an informer? Was he really a traitor – and who murdered him? With Edmund’s brother Harold now head of the family, enjoying the wealth which ought to have come to Andy’s father, the family is forever divided. Andy yearns to clear Edmund’s name and restore his father to his rightful inheritance. Into the conflict comes Charlotte Townsend, newly divorced, lonely and struggling with writer’s block and the consuming threat of impending loss. She returns for healing at Guernsey's natural health centre, La Folie, and becomes involved in Andy’s family affairs. Together they embark on a hunt for the truth…

Book Bubbles from The Family Divided

Andy's hopes for his father

Andy has always been puzzled why his father, Jim, never inherited the family property and wealth. With Jim now struggling to survive financially, Andy decides he has to do something. . . .

Guernsey Retreat - Anne Allen

Literature & Fiction

Two violent deaths. Separated by time, but with a fatal connection… A man loses his father. A young woman loses her mother. Both in tragic circumstances that lead, when they meet, to surprising revelations from the past. Louisa needs to find the father she has never known, to warn him of possible danger - for them both. Her search takes her from England to Guernsey. Malcolm's journey is more tortuous: conceived in Guernsey, he travels to Canada as a baby with his bereaved mother. Many years later he arrives in India, and from here he is led back to Guernsey to open a health centre at La Folie. This was his father's home, where Malcolm was conceived, but never lived and where his father was killed at the start of the Second World War. At the heart of the two deaths lie stolen jewels. Valuable enough to kill for. Twice. Finding her father brings Louisa more than she bargains for, and her life is transformed, while Malcolm learns that life is, after all, for sharing…

Book Bubbles from Guernsey Retreat - Anne Allen

Malcolm faces the media

This interview takes places a few months after the discovery of a body in an area designated for a swimming pool. The body was that of Malcolm's father, a man he had never met.

The plot thickens

A man was murdered in Guernsey just as war was breaking out and his body is not unearthed until many years later - by an unknowing relation.

Finding Mother

Literature & Fiction

Three women. Three generations. Sacrifices for love… Who is she really? Nicole is about to find out as she searches for her real mother; the woman who gave her away at birth. With her marriage in tatters, she sets out from England: travelling to Spain, Jersey and Guernsey before the extraordinary story of her real family is finally revealed. Nicole becomes an unwitting catalyst for change in the family. Two women are forced to reveal long-buried secrets. One going back as far as the Second World War. Lives are transformed as choices have to be made and the past laid to rest…

Book Bubbles from Finding Mother

The catalyst

Nicole has been pushed too far by her husband Tom and chooses this moment to re-evaluate her life

Echoes of Time

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense

Betrayal, injustice and revenge echo down the years… 1940. Olive marries farmer Bill Falla. The Germans occupy Guernsey. All too soon Olive realises she’s made a mistake. Her life changes when she meets Wolfgang, a German officer- but there’s a price to pay. . . 2010. Natalie Ogier returns to Guernsey to escape an abusive relationship – only to be plagued by odd happenings in her beautiful cottage on the site of a derelict and secluded farm. Disturbing dreams, disembodied voices and uncanny visions from the past. She becomes increasingly ill at ease as someone else’s past catches up with her own… Her only immediate neighbour, Stuart, is the grandson of the original owners, Bill and Olive. Thrown together in a bid to find out what really happened to Olive, can they each survive the repercussions of the past and move on?

Book Bubbles from Echoes of Time

The beginning

This is from the first chapter, but not the beginning of the story. It actually takes place midway between the story set in the German Occupation and the contemporary conclusion. I feel it gives a taster of Olive's tale and what she had become after the war.

Dangerous Waters

Literature & Fiction

** Awarded Silver in the 2012 WishingShelfAwards ** Dangerous Waters is the first of The Guernsey Novels, linked but standalone stories, which will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Tragedy seems to follow Jeanne Le Page around . . . Can she really go through it again and survive? She is lucky to be alive … at sixteen Jeanne was almost killed in a boating accident which brought heart-breaking family tragedy. Now, fifteen years later, Jeanne returns reluctantly to the island of Guernsey following the death of her beloved grandmother. Struggling for breath as the ferry nears the island; she is overwhelmed by a dark foreboding as hazy memories of that terrible day resurface… Only returning to sell her inheritance - her grandmother’s old cottage - Jeanne has no intention of picking up her old life. But the cottage holds a secret, dating back to World War II and the German Occupation, and Jeanne becomes drawn into discovering more. Then, soon after her arrival, a chance meeting with an old teenage crush leads her to thoughts of love. Jeanne is forced to face her demons, reliving the tragedy as her lost memory returns. When the truth is finally revealed, her life is endangered for the second time…

Book Bubbles from Dangerous Waters

Facing the past

This is the first time Jeanne has visited her parents' grave and it's a poignant moment for her. She finds herself wanting to share so much with her parents - all the events in her life they missed. And it brings home to her how much she has missed them.

The beginning. . . .

This passage is from the first chapter and flags up Jeanne's concern about the return to the island of her birth.

The Betrayal

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense

Book Six of The Guernsey Novels is another dual-time story set during the German Occupation and present-day Guernsey and is likely to appeal particularly to fans of the book The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Treachery and theft lead to death – and love 1940. Teresa Bichard and her baby are sent by her beloved husband, Leo, to England as the Germans draw closer to Guernsey. Days later they invade… 1942. Leo, of Jewish descent, is betrayed to the Germans and is sent to a concentration camp, never to return. 1945. Teresa returns to find Leo did not survive and the family’s valuable art collection, including a Renoir, is missing. Heartbroken, she returns to England. 2011. Nigel and his twin Fiona, buy a long-established antique shop in Guernsey and during a refit, find a hidden stash of paintings, including what appears to be a Renoir. Days later, Fiona finds Nigel dead, an apparent suicide. Refusing to accept the verdict, a distraught Fiona employs a detective to help her discover the truth… Searching for the rightful owner of the painting brings Fiona close to someone who opens a chink in her broken heart. Can she answer some crucial questions before laying her brother's ghost to rest? Who betrayed Leo? Who knew about the stolen Renoir? And are they prepared to kill – again?

Book Bubbles from The Betrayal

Where it began

The story revolves around what happened to Teresa and Leo Bichard during WWII when the Germans were poised to invade Guernsey in the Channel Islands. Their lives are changed forever and what happens to them impacts on other lives more than 60 years later

Click Follow to receive emails when this author adds content on Bublish

We use cookies so you get the best experience on our website. By using our site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy. ACCEPT COOKIES